San Antonio Sabbatical

Summer Reading List

Posted on: August 12, 2010

When I was a child, I used to participate in the annual summer reading contest held at my local public library.  My slow reading speed kept me from winning the contest, but I had fun reading a variety of books — especially as a teenager.  My struggles with comprehension and vocabulary have improved with time and practice.  Today, leisure reading is one of my favorite pastimes along with watching television, writing, traveling, and doing jigsaw puzzles.  However, my time is more limited these days so much of my fun reading occurs during the summer months when I am on a break from my job.  There are many popular books that I would eventually like to read (for example, several from The New York Times Best Seller List).  But, for now, I will share with you books I have read recently while preparing for my move to San Antonio.

(1)     Speed Shrinking, a novel by Susan Shapiro

(2)     Outliers:  The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell

(3)     Behind Closed Doors, a novel by Kimberla Lawson Roby

(4)     You’d Be So Pretty If…:  Teaching Our Daughters to Love Their Bodies — Even When We Don’t Love Our Own by Dara Chadwick

(5)     ‘E’ is for Evidence:  A Kinsey Millhone Mystery by Sue Grafton

(6)     Letter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou

(7)     Socially Smart in 60 Seconds:  Etiquette Do’s and Don’ts for Personal and Professional Success by Deborah Smith Pegues

(8)     The Difference:  How Anyone Can Prosper in Even the Toughest Times by Jean Chatzky

(9)     Commencement, a novel by J. Courtney Sullivan

(10)   Nothing but the Right Thing, a novel by Stacy Hawkins Adams

One book that I really enjoyed reading a couple of years ago is Eat, Pray, Love:  One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India, and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I’m looking forward to seeing the movie version starring Julia Roberts when it opens in theaters tomorrow.

Back to my packing.  The next time you hear from me I’ll be in San Antonio.

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,968 hits
