San Antonio Sabbatical

Spanish Links and Thanksgiving

Posted on: November 26, 2010

  • In: Diversions
  • Comments Off on Spanish Links and Thanksgiving

Only three weeks left in San Antonio.  It’s hard to believe how quickly the time is passing by.  Two days ago I had my last Spanish lesson at SEFLA.  I’m so glad that Elvia and I were able to work together for these last ten weeks.  Her lessons were very helpful and I learned a lot.  She shared with me some really good websites for learning and practicing Spanish, and now I’ll share them with you:

Yesterday was Thanksgiving day.  I feel very blessed and have a lot to be thankful for in my life.  As an optimist, I often focus on the positives and express gratitude as appropriate.  I hope that you also take the time to acknowledge the good people and things in your life, not only on Thanksgiving, but always.  Since I couldn’t be with my own family this Thanksgiving, I accepted an invitation from one of OLLU‘s graduate students, Rosanna (who is in my lecture class and practicum), to have Thanksgiving dinner at her aunt’s house in San Antonio.  It was so sweet of them to invite me.  I arrived with a fruit-and-nut basket and was immediately greeted by the large friendly dog and other family members.  There were about 15 of us — aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends — and everyone was so warm and welcoming.  Rosanna reminded me that is is a Mexican family (from El Paso, Texas) and this is how they are.  We ate a delicious dinner in the back yard, then had dessert inside while watching two movies, Walt Disney’s “A Christmas Carol” (the famous Ebenezer Scrooge tale by Charles Dickens, starring Jim Carrey) and “Winter’s Bone” (a tragic story of poverty, drugs, and cruelty which made us even more appreciative of our own blessings).  I enjoyed my five hours there with great food, people, and conversation.  Sharing the holidays with kind-hearted people is truly a blessing and I’m glad to have made new acquaintances in San Antonio.

Today was a day of rest.  I avoided the “Black Friday” frenzy at the malls.  I’ll do my holiday gift shopping later.  I’m still trying to do some pleasure reading, and recently finished a book of cartoons, When Do They Serve the Wine? The Folly, Flexibility, and Fun of Being a Woman by Liza Donnelly.  There are still several other books on my to-read list, but I’ve been temporarily sidetracked by my reading of Spanish books.

Sampling San Antonio‘s restaurants remains high on my to-do list, so tomorrow I’m scheduled to go on another food tour.  As usual, I’ll report back once it’s over.

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,968 hits
