San Antonio Sabbatical

Books, Food, and a Movie

Posted on: December 4, 2010

  • In: Diversions
  • Comments Off on Books, Food, and a Movie

I’ve recently read some more Spanish children’s books in order to practice using the language and to learn about Hispanic/Latino culture.  Most of these books were picked up at my local public library (Cody branch), but I also made a special trip to the Central Library downtown in order to read a recommended book that was not allowed to be checked out.  As mentioned in a previous post, even children’s books in a foreign language can be challenging due to unknown words, regional dialect, and creative sentence structure.  On a positive note, this batch of books was easier to get through than the last batch; I guess the practice helped.  I recently read six books:  (1) Sopa de frijoles: una poema para cocinar/Bean Soup: A Cooking Poem (bilingual) by Jorge Argueta and Rafael Yockteng; (2) In My Family/En mi familia (bilingual) by Carmen Lomas Garza; (3) A Gift from Papá Diego/Un regalo de Papá Diego (bilingual) by Benjamin Alire Sáenz and Geronimo Garcia; (4) The Empanadas that Abuela Made/Las empanadas que hacía la abuela (bilingual) by Diane Gonzales Bertrand and Alex Pardo DeLange; (5) Dancing Miranda/Baile, Miranda, baile (bilingual) by Diana de Anda and Lamberto Alvarez; and (6) The Everything Kids’ Learning Spanish Book: Fun exercises to help you learn español by Laura K. Lawless.

On a related note, when I stopped by the SEFLA office yesterday to pick up my diploma for successfully completing my course, I was pleasantly surprised.  I received a grade of A+ for Advanced Conversational Spanish.  I really enjoyed my weekly lessons with Elvia.  These private lessons were an added out-of-pocket expense, but they were definitely worth it.  Although several native speakers have told me that I speak Spanish very well, I still don’t have the comfort I would like in using the language.  This will come with more practice and time.

Earlier this week on the way home from my clinic practicum, I had take-out food again from El Pollo Loco.  I ordered their 2-piece chicken meal (leg & thigh) that came with two sides (I chose the broccoli, cauliflower, and carrot veggie mix and a corn cobette).  The meal came with tortillas.  I also ordered an individual serving of chocolate cake.  This dinner was delicious; it was very tasty for fast food.  I like this restaurant chain but we don’t have it up north where I live.  Yesterday, on the way to SEFLA, I picked up a take-out Chinese food lunch from Beijing Express (5203 Fredericksburg Rd. at Callaghan), a new restaurant for me.  I decided to try a different dish than usual so I ordered the Almond Chicken lunch special; it came with fried rice and an egg roll.  This meal was okay (Chinese food is not my favorite but I do like a few select items and order them occasionally).

This morning I went to AMC Huebner Oaks 24 to see Katherine Heigl’s new movie, “Life As We Know It”.  Since the movie start time was 11:30 a.m., I got the before-noon ticket price of $5.00 — a good deal.  But, the small popcorn I ordered was $5.75.  It cost more than the movie!  I remember reading recent survey results in which Americans named movie theater popcorn as being the most overpriced food.  I would have to agree.  Anyway, this movie — a comedy/drama — was entertaining, although I’m getting tired of seeing Katherine Heigl play the same type of movie role.  I really liked her on the TV series “Grey’s Anatomy”.

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,968 hits
